Executive Recruitment

About the Councils

The two Councils of Cambridge City and South Cambridgeshire cover an area of over 360 square miles in the Southern part of Cambridgeshire. The City Council area is entirely surrounded by SCDC and the two Councils have a long track record of Joint working – especially around growth with a number of development sites straddling the district boundary. In addition to the Planning Service, Cambridge City Council and SCDC have a 2 way partnership for Waste Services and along with Huntingdonshire District Council, the three Councils share ICT, Legal and Building Control services.

South Cambridgeshire District Council

South Cambridgeshire District Council provides local government services to the large district of South Cambridgeshire, which covers approximately 90,000 hectares, has 102 villages and forms the southernmost part of the county of Cambridgeshire. It is bordered by East Cambridgeshire District Council, Huntingdonshire District Council, North Hertfordshire District Council, Central Bedfordshire and Uttlesford District Council. The Council’s main office is located in Cambourne and currently provides services to almost 155,000 residents.

There are 45 members of the District Council, representing 106 parishes and settlement.

The Chairman of the Council is Councillor Douglas de Lacey and Councillor Bridget Smith is the Leader of the Council.

The current composition of the council is:

  • 30 Liberal Democrat
  • 11 Conservative
  • 2 Independent
  • 2 Labour

(Liberal Democrat Control)

Seats on most of the Council's committees are allocated to the political groups (Liberal Democrat, Conservative, Labour and Independent) on a politically proportionate basis.

Councillor Bridget Smith is the Leader of South Cambridgeshire District Council and Chairman of the Executive (Cabinet). The Executive consists of seven Portfolio Holders (Cabinet members) including the Leader.

Click here to view the other cabinet members.

In addition to the responsibilities of each Portfolio, the Executive as a whole is responsible for:

  • Proposing new policy and the budget
  • Promoting the Council's interest in partnership
  • Implementing, with the Council's officers, decisions of the full Council

Individual Portfolio Holders also have delegated powers to make decisions affecting their service areas.

Council Parishes & Wards

The 106 parishes and settlements in South Cambridgeshire are combined to make 90 parish councils, 10 parish meetings and 1 community council, as well as 26 district electoral wards.

More information can be found on South Cambridgeshire District Council's website.

Cambridge City Council

Cambridge City Council is currently controlled by the Labour party. After the election in May 2018, and one councillor’s decision to leave the Liberal Democrat party, the make-up of the Council is:

  • 26 Labour councillors
  • 13 Liberal Democrat councillors
  • 2 independent councillors
  • 1 Green councillor

More information can be found on Cambridge City Council's website.